Greg's Newsletter
Greg's Newsletter
6 Thoughts For Wednesday [No. 089]
0:00
-5:51

6 Thoughts For Wednesday [No. 089]

Pepper, music, the NBA, and re-entry...

I hope you're doing well. We're inching our way up to 100 editions of Greg's Newsletter. Today? It's just some thoughts, y'all. Some quick hitters.

Luke Hicks on Twitter: "the cultural impact of i think you should leave is  immeasurable… "
  • It's so fun to see the new generation of NBA stars start to take over. I'm sad that my (first born) son Luka Doncic and my Mavericks are out, after a very weird but exceedingly entertaining 7-game series with the Clippers. But to see his historical performance, alongside what Trae Young, Devin Booker, and the other under-25 kids are doing. It's so, so fun. (Related: the LA Clippers have to be the least fun team, featuring two future Hall of Famers, of all time.)

  • After 15-ish months of an unprecedented global pandemic, it's time to sort of kind of maybe get back to normal? I worked a few hours yesterday from the coffee shop across the street, which was nice to do. As I walked back to my house, I started thinking about how having quarantine babies (and having TWO quarantine babies, in our case) makes this all the more weird and complicated. Twelve months ago, I was yearning for a "get-back-to-what-I-used-to-do" situation, whenever the pandemic ended. That doesn't exist for me and Rachel. Instead of trying to start doing 'normal' things again, we're in this brand new chapter of our lives. Which is good! But also "unprecedented," as they say. Like, I can't exactly go to any friends and be like "hey, so, remember that time a few years back when you successfully re-entered the world after a heartbreaking, painful pandemic, while also having your first children. What's your advice?" We don't have a precedent! I guess we'll figure it out, though!

  • Really exciting news! I Think You Should Leave, the best sketch comedy show in recent memory, starring Michigan legend Tim Robinson, is coming back for a second season on Netflix on July 6. Yay! More memes!

  • Pepper! Pepper rules! We've stayed cooking in our household, as we did before and during the pandemic. But I would guess my usage of pepper-as-seasoning has increased 400% over the past several months. Laying on the pepper—Fish! Chicken! Other meats!—is now just second nature. Perhaps it's because my hair is getting a little more salt-and-pepper. Not sure. Honestly, I would just rather my hair stayed pepper. Pure, unadulterated pepper.

  • I love eBay. I cannot stress this enough. I would like to turn my love of eBay into full-time work. Give me a topic, subject, historical period, and I will spend hours in the rabbit hole. If you're in need of an eBay shopper, I am it. Hit me up.

  • New-ish music to listen to:

Thanks for reading or listening today. I love you all and will be back soon!

0 Comments
Greg's Newsletter
Greg's Newsletter
Listen to Greg orate his snazzy newsletter. Subscribe for thoughts and insights at the intersection of culture, technology, media, and communication. And occasionally I'll talk about like, I don't know, tortilla chips.